Product Reviews

Love your Creative Percussion product(s)?

Want to submit a review?

Please click the button to enter your information and review.

Twist Rod Reviews
 
Bigfoot Twist Rods
 
I bought the Bigfoots yesterday at the Chicago Drum Show and I tried them this morning for the first time.  They are amazing!  I'm not sure I will be using regular sticks from now on!

Ricardo J. Mijia, Wildwood, MO

May 2019

Twist Rods
 
So happy I met Kevin at the CT Drum Show.  I took a chance on the Rock Twist Rods and they are just awesome!  I'm now the proud owner of Jazz Rods and the Bigfoot as well!  They stand up to steady playing with no fraying or breakage.  Just excellent.  Can't love the Jazz Twist Rods enough!

Steve Cioppa, Bridgeport, CT

May 2019

Jazz Lite Twist Rods
 
I purchased a pair (of Jazz Lite Twist Rods) at the CT Drum Show.  I talked to you (Kevin) because I had many hand surgeries and was having problems with cramping.  I tried your sticks at a show.  LOVE THEM!  They allowed me to play with little-to-no pain and I love the sound on my cymbals.  Still working on the snare sounds.  Thank you for allowing me to play without severe pain again, it means the world to me, whether you meant to or not.

Tracy Cusano, Clinton, CT

April 2019

Jazz Lite Twist Rods
 
Proof of lasting product.  Over a year of playing with these (Jazz Lite Twist Rods) and this is all the damage.  3 dowels busted, one of which I broke last night getting caught in my sleeve.
(this review was sent with a photo showing minimal wear on the grips where the aluminum ring hits the hoops.  Still very usable.)

James Ryan Jr, Nokomis, IL

April 2019

Twist Rods
 
I, so far, have been using the Yeti, Rock, Jazz and Twisted Hybrid Twist Rods and I LOVE them!  I play a wide range of music and the variety of sounds I get with these products is perfect!

Dan Shinder, Globe, AZ

April 2019

Bigfoot Twist Rods

 

I've beat the hell out of the Bigfoots since January and haven't broken a dowel yet. These are truly remarkable. With other rods I would break them after a couple tunes. I just played a 3-hour gig with them and they held up like no other and were very comfortable! The only thing I can say is order a pair and be amazed, I could write all day until my fingers bleed but until you get them in your hand and try them you won't know!

Brady Hartman, Tioga, PA

June 2018

Rock Twist Rods

 

I've tried a lot of different rods by different manufacturers, but the Twisted Rods Rock are in a class by themselves. The balance is wonderful, with the rubber ends on them, and I love the vibration coming into the handle--it feels like a live thing in my hand. I can actually get real bounce out of these and do double strokes. Best of all is the sound, which is the perfect blend of diffusion and attack. I played with them for an hour today, then switched back to my favorite Vic Firth Questlove sticks, and they felt dead by comparison. A really outstanding product.

Mark Cherrington, Pelham, MA

May 2018

Bigfoot Twist Rods

 

Any of you guys use "Hotrods"?  I gave up on them years ago.  Not that I didn't like them, I just couldn't afford them! Haha.  They didn't last long enough for the price you pay.  But, I gotta say @jc6611 has once again provided me with a product that outshines the rest!  The Bigfoot Rods by Creative Percussion are a joy to play!  They feel great in my hands, sound great on the skins, and have been holding up nicely due to their unique design!

Chris Langan, Moscow, PA

April 2018

Twist Rods

The twist rods sound so great on my cymbals! 

Customer for life!

Jay Taylor, Merrimack, NH

April 2018

Twist Rods

 

I've got to say these rods are the best I've played. No more of those other models for me. The balance of these with the rubber ends make playing so easy. I tend to hold my sticks very low to the butt end so the balance is unreal for me.. The three different versions all have different sounds and I can pick to fit the song or situation I'm playing. I really love the light jazz model though.. The jingle is just icing on the cake. Thank you

James Ryan Jr, Nokomis, IL

November 2017

Elite Beater

 

After damn near a year of playing this "Elite" Isolation Technology bass drum beater from www.CreativePercussion.net, the wear pattern on the suede face tells quite a story.
The head pivots and is self-leveling as you'll notice the perfect centering of the wear ring. This means I'm getting a full smack from a flat attack to the head instead of just a small crescent shaped wear from uneven smack-age.
In addition to the great area of contact, the Elite beater's hard rubber between each component keeps the shock down on my foot, ankle and knee joints. I keep one of these on both of my kits and have no need to change a thing.

Brian "Hurricrane" Crane, Eugene, OR

August 2019

Elite Beater

 

Creative Percussion definitely lives up to its name!  CP creates some of the most unique products that a drummer/percussionist could come across.  I have recently been turned onto the Elite-Isolation Technology Bass Drum Beaters (in cherry wood) and I absolutely love them.  I love the weight and balance of the beaters as well as the thunderous response that they provide to the kickdrum.  Also, what really caught my attention is how well they reduce fatigue and stress on my knees.  I feel as energetic at the end of the 3rd set as I did at the beginning of the 1st set when these beaters are on my pedals.  I've tried several different beaters on the market but none are as remarkable as these.  Drummers - check out the Elite-Isolation Technology Bass Drum Beaters.  You won't be disappointed!

Anthony, Laurin, Methuen, MA

June 2019

Elite Beater

 

I have had my Creative Percussion ELITE Bass Drum Beaters for a few months now. It would have been easy to write a review within a few minutes of putting them on my kit and playing them, but I wanted to play them for a while, and give a truly honest review.
 

I have used them in the studio, in multiple rehearsals, and at several shows and open mic jams. I can’t say enough about how well they are designed, how well they hold up, and how great of a product they are overall.

When I spoke with Kevin about the beaters, I noted to him that I am an Army veteran with bad knees. I’ve had two surgeries due to having bad knees. Due to this, one area I have battled as a drummer is fatigue in my knees when I play longer than an hour. I always pressed through because I love to play, and the show must go on. However, now that I’m using the Creative Percussion ELITE Bass Drum Beater, I have noticed a difference in how my knees feel after I play. I am less fatigued, I don’t feel the pain after a gig or rehearsal that I felt before making the change, and the beaters do exactly what they are advertised to do.

I can’t thank Kevin enough for working with me to listen to my needs, and to supply a product that goes above and beyond their expectations.

If you are a drummer with knee problems, you owe it to yourself to check these you. The Creative Percussion ELITE Bass Drum Beaters are the ticket you need to help you with fatigue, pain, or any other issues you may be facing.

Luke Matheson, Sheridan, AR

May 2019

Elite Beater

 

I'd like to review the ELITE Beater created by Kevin Feeney @ Creative Percussion.

First, let me tell you how I came across Creative Percussion. I made a post in a Facebook page for drummers known as MyDrumset, I made a post one day, asking if anybody knew of a company that made a shock mounted bass drum beater because I was having issues with the shock of the beater striking the bass drum head. After a short while, Kevin sent me a PM saying that he could help, so I proceeded to tell him about my foot issue, so he said I've got a prototype shock mounted beater I'll send you, so I said, GREAT!

So... I got this beater, right out of the box, just looking at it, I knew I had a solid product and you talk about beautiful? Mahogany never looked so good! So, I took this beautiful new beater, slapped it in a DW 5000 single pedal and played a minute.

After a few minutes I determined that the "feel" of playing the beater is not much different than playing any other beater...so I thought, hmmm, a 4-hour gig should show the difference, boy did it ever! At the end of a gig, my feet, knees and toes are usually greatly fatigued and hurting, not so after using the ELITE Beater. I'm telling you guys now, if you hurt after playing, you owe it to yourself and your feet to get this beater! You will NOT be disappointed!!!!

Phillip Welch, West Monroe, LA

May 2019

Elite Beater

 

I have the cherry Elite beater and it gives my 24" bass drum the perfect "SLAP!"

Dan Shinder, Globe, AZ

April 2019

Elite Beater

 

There are a million bass drum beaters out there and many of them are gimmicks.  CP's Elite is not a gimmick.

Michael Aubrecht, Author of "Off Beat with Michael Aubrecht"

March 2019

Skate Wheel Beater

 

Those beaters (Skate Wheel Beaters) are my favorite.  They make my 26x24 bass drum sound even bigger.  I also do studio work with the skate wheel beaters.  It was amazing to use on a slow, greasy, blues rock track.  And rock n double kick work is exciting with them.  Kevin Feeney is the best!

Rich Bloom, Contoocook, NH

February 2019

Elite Beater

 

The Elite Bass Drum Beater is a Godsend for my feet, here’s why:
For the past year, I’ve been searching for a bass drum beater that absorbs some of the shock of the bass drum hitting the beater because it was killing me so bad to kick the bass drum hard enough to get a decent sound, I’ve recently been diagnosed as having mild arthritis in my right foot and I didn’t want to hang up playing as it is 90% of my income. Enter Kevin Feeney & Creative Percussion, Kevin came to me through a Facebook post in the group, MyDrumset, Kevin had a solution and I was all ears, he said that he had developed a shock absorbing beater and I was like, take my money already!  I got the beater in and played it for a while, I noticed roughly a 20-30% reduction in the shock I was getting, problem solved! Thanks Kevin and Creative Percussion!!

Phillip Welch, West Monroe, LA

December 2018

 
Bass Drum Beater Reviews

Baseball Shaker

 

I currently own both the Hex Stax Combo and Baseball shaker, very pleased with my purchase.  I've gotta say, these definitely look really cool, but I didn't really even think of what they'd exactly sound like in person.  Turns out these products kick so much a$$ because of how many options you can give yourself, AAAND they have great sound qualities to top it off!  TRY THEM OUT!  Thank you CP! 

June 2019

Ryan M Garcia, Los Angeles, CA

Multiple Accessories

 

Check out the new Creative Percussion Groove Chain-ger! I toss it on the snare half way through the video to show how it changes the sound. It's one of my favorite new products along with the new Hex Stax and MFX Jingles that are on the hi-hat rod. There's also a Drum Taco on the top hi-hat to muffle the overtones for recording. These are usually used on drums but there are no rules. I'm also using the Hyper Sphere beater by Creative Percussion. A very light, hollow stainless steel beater that looks as good as it plays. 

February 2019

Chris Georgenes, Boston, MA

Hex Shakers

 

The Hex Shakers were unbelievable on the percussion overdubs I did this morning (did social media posts this morning).  The engineer and band leader were blown away by the sound!

January 2019

Chris Belin, Pittsburgh, PA

 
Accessory Reviews

Hex Stax Combo

 

I currently own both the Hex Stax Combo and Baseball shaker, very pleased with my purchase.  I've gotta say, these definitely look really cool, but I didn't really even think of what they'd exactly sound like in person.  Turns out these products kick so much a$$ because of how many options you can give yourself, AAAND they have great sound qualities to top it off!  TRY THEM OUT!  Thank you CP! 

June 2019

Ryan M Garcia, Los Angeles, CA

Hex Stax

 

I love my Hex Stax from Creative Percussion.  7", 9", 11"; 3 layers of goodness each.  Mix them up or do whatever.  Be creative.  Oh, don't forget to chck out the Hex Stax add-ons.  With the many styles of music I play, Hex Stax fit into a lot of today's music.  And I ABSOLUTELY love them.  And everything Kevin makes! 

June 2019

Brent Larocque, London, Ontario

 
Metal Effects and Modular System Reviews
General Reviews
Creative Percussion is fast becoming one of the most forward-thinking and innovative drum accessory companies in the business. With a product line that includes a variety of custom designed drum set accoutrements CP has drummers rethinking the possibilities of their sound. Kevin Feeney founded the company and combined his talents as a working drummer, custom cabinet maker, finish carpenter and designer. This mixed bag of skills has enabled Kevin to push the envelope of what is possible in the world of percussion.

March 2019

Michael Aubrecht, Author of "Off Beat with Michael Aubrecht"

Thank you for making such awesome products!

February 2019

Winston Claiborne, Dacusville, SC

Kevin has some VERY cool ideas and I appreciate what he's doing in the Drum Accessories World!!!  We Drummer Thank You!!!

February 2019

Michael Ray Partlow, Birch Bay, WA

It's an honor to endorse your arsenal of fine products.  Thanks for everything you do.  You ROCK man!

February 2019

Adam Plott, Pickens, SC

Best percussion inventions for the working drummer!!!

December 2018

John Dorizzi, Boston, MA

Some of the best percussion accessories on the market!!!

October 2018

Dan Grabski, South Daytona, FL

Kevin is the man... brilliant and creative and innovative...  What else is there?  So glad we met today.

July 2018

Baco Bill, East Kingston, NH

Some amazing accessories and products... Outstanding workmanship and friendly service make Creative Percussion one of the best to work with.

April 2018

Arthur Stonez, Centent Cymbals

Excellent products, superior quality.  I highly recommend checking the different products out!

February 2018

Karl Crafton, Clinton Township, MI